Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

It’s A Pop Culture Halloween, Jessica Leigh

So, in honor of Halloween being tomorrow I thought I’d share some of my favorite Halloween pop culture traditions.  And it should be noted that I am THE BIGGEST WIMP when it comes to scary movies.  So this post will be rather tame as far as spooks and thrills go!

Up first is the beloved “It’s The Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown”.  What’s not to love!  If you click on the image, you’ll be taken to a clip that includes my favorite World War I Flying Ace, Snoopy!  This television special will never get old and I will never be too old for it!

“The Life and Death of a Pumpkin” is a black comedic look at what pumpkins go through during Halloween time.  It was created by Blame Society Productions (who also created the Chad Vader series).  I had the good fortune of working with Aaron and Matt (the creators) years ago while running a non-profit arts service organization in Madison, WI.  I’ve been a huge fan of this short film ever since and it’s tradition to watch it every year at Halloween.  Click on the above image to experience it for yourself!

 

And nothing beats these classics when it comes to TV lands spookiest and creepiest families! The Munsters can be watched on Netflix for those of you who stream instantly.  But speaking of television (and Netflix), a great dose of Buffy The Vampire Slayer can remind anyone that “real” vampires and demons take the night off on Halloween.  But beware of scary bunnies!

So even if you are a certified wimp like me, there is still plenty of Halloween fun to be had without a visit from Freddy, Jason, or Mike Myers (no, the other Mike Myers)!  What are you planning on doing to celebrate Halloween?  As for us, I think a little Young Frankenstein is in order!  Besides, what is more scary than Frau Blucher?  (as horses ‘neigh’ all over Texas)

14 comments on “It’s A Pop Culture Halloween, Jessica Leigh

  1. petit4chocolatier
    October 30, 2012

    I love all of these; especially The Great Pumpkin! I love scary movies, so I braved Halloween H20 the other night : )

    • Green Door Hospitality
      October 30, 2012

      Oh! I actually envy you a little bit! I would love to enjoy horror movies! Alas it will never be. When I was 4, my babysitter made me watch Poltergeist. I have never been able to handle the horror genre since! (And of course that babysitter was never brought back again!!)

      • petit4chocolatier
        October 30, 2012

        Yikes, I understand fully! Poltergeist at 4, wow!! That was pretty scary.

      • Green Door Hospitality
        October 30, 2012

        Sure is! From what I hear it is scary as an adult (though I have never re-watched it). My mom tells me I had nightmares for a couple months.

  2. Dogs, Dishes, and Decor
    October 30, 2012

    Charlie Brown is the best. I never tire of the Christmas special in particular.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      October 30, 2012

      That is a new tradition with my husband and I actually…. we watch Charlie Brown Christmas a couple days before Christmas each year 🙂

  3. Gretchen Gardner Poulson
    October 31, 2012

    I am like you, a wimp when it comes to scary movies. the Great Pumpkin never gets old. It is fun to watch it with my kiddo.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      October 31, 2012

      Oh I bet he loves it! Yeah, Charlie Brown specials will always be a tradition for me. Both the Halloween special and the Christmas special. Plus, there is plenty of fun out there for us “wimps” to enjoy!! 😉

  4. The Liquid Culture Project
    October 31, 2012

    BLUCHER!

  5. thingsmybellylikes
    October 31, 2012

    I hate, hate, HATE scary movies so will be avoiding them at all costs. We should have a holiday dedicated to comedy, that’d be much better and we could all get a decent night’s sleep without nightmares 🙂

    • Green Door Hospitality
      October 31, 2012

      I think that sounds like an excellent idea!! Hence the watching of Young Frankenstein! Fits with the motif of Halloween but all the laughs and none of the scares!

      • thingsmybellylikes
        October 31, 2012

        True. And I love gene wilder 🙂

      • Green Door Hospitality
        October 31, 2012

        Me too! Ohhh, another great one of his that would be perfect for today is ‘Haunted Honeymoon’! Him and Gilda Radner!!

Let me know what you think!

