Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Lunchtime Hospitality: Orecchiette, Sausages and Broccoli in Broth

Orecchiette, Sausage and Broccoli in Broth

Autumn means the start to many things.  For instance there is leaf changing, cooler weather, and pumpkin-spiced, well pumpkin-spiced everything!  It is also the start of soup season!  Now if you’re like me, you enjoy season all year round.  However, there is just something about having soup in cooler weather that makes it taste even more delicious!

I made this recipe last night that I found in Williams-Sonoma’s Complete Pasta Cookbook and we found it to be most excellent!  It is hearty like a stew, makes you feel like you’re eating a pasta dish, and the wonderful spicy broth gives it a soup quality.  All in all, a great combinations of several wonderful foods!  I’m including the recipe below of how it was made last night.  Perhaps though for next time, a touch of garlic in the broth and a sprinkling of freshly grated parmaesan cheese once ladled into bowls.

Orecchiette, Sausage and Broccoli in Broth

  • 8 cups (64 fl oz) Chicken Stock
  • 3-5 pinches of Aleppo red pepper flakes (to taste)
  • 1 lb spicy Italian sausages
  • 1 1/2 lb broccoli, cut into florets
  • 12 oz dried orecchiette pasta
  • kosher salt and cracked pepper to taste

In a large pot over medium heat, bring the chicken stock and red pepper flakes to a boil.  Reduce the heat to low and simmer for 20 minutes.

Using a fork, prick the skins of the sausages.  In a frying pan over medium heat, cook the sausages until lightly browned on all sides and cooked through, roughly 15-20 minutes.
Transfer the sausages to paper towels to drain and cool.  Cut into 3/8 inch rounds and add to the stock.  Add the broccoli and simmer for 15 minutes.

In a large pot over high heat, bring the water boil and cook orecchiette according to the package directions, or until al dente.  Drain.

To the stock, add the orecchiette, as well as the salt and pepper to taste.  Stir to mix well.

Ladle into individual soup bowls and serve hot with some Homemade Baked Bread !

More Lunchtime Hospitality Recipes

7 comments on “Lunchtime Hospitality: Orecchiette, Sausages and Broccoli in Broth

  1. Cloches & Lavender
    October 3, 2012

    Looks and sound fantastic. I am trying this one when it gets cold in NJ

    Cynthia

    • Beyond The Green Door
      October 3, 2012

      Great! And I found it amusing as I typed the post that I’m excited that it is getting cool here in Texas when we are having temps in the 70s in the evenings, lol. There are times that I miss that nice brisk chill that you can get in states like NJ!

      • Cloches & Lavender
        October 3, 2012

        I would miss the change of the seasons, I need it. I just hate the snow.

      • wifemeetslife
        October 5, 2012

        YES! 70 degrees is the best!
        This pasta looks good; something I would make with spinach because broccoli freaks me out. I’ve never used orecchiette; I might have to expand my pasta repertoire.

      • Beyond The Green Door
        October 5, 2012

        Oh, I think it would also be very good with spinach! And I love orecchiette. It worked well with the broth, but I especially love it with sauces because the “ear shape” (which is what orecchiette means) catches and holds sauce really well!

  2. That looks very good!

Let me know what you think!

