Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Simple Appetizer Alert: Perfectly Peppery Pecans

Peppery Pecans

This recipe is a great mixture of spicy and sweet flavors.  They don’t overly caramelize so they are great for snacking, either on their own, or paired with cheese and fruit.  You can keep them in an air-tight container for up to one week.

Perfectly Peppery Pecans — adapted from Cooking Light, October 2007

  • 1 pound pecan halves
  • 1 Tbs sugar
  • 1 Tbs Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp butter, melted
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp Aleppo red pepper flakes, crushed
  • Cooking Spray

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Combine all ingredients except cooking spray in a large bowl, tossing well to coat.

Spread mixture evenly on a jellyroll pan coated with cooking spray.

Coat nuts with cooking spray, lightly.

Bake at 325 degrees for 15 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes.

Remove from oven; cool completely.

Store in an airtight container.

More Simple Appetizer Alert Recipes

19 comments on “Simple Appetizer Alert: Perfectly Peppery Pecans

  1. petit4chocolatier
    October 1, 2012

    I absolutely love this! I love the red pepper flakes; and would have never thought of it. But it actually sounds really good with the other ingredients. I am going to reblog this on a new page I started this past week with another one of your links!!

    Sincerely,
    judy

    • Beyond The Green Door
      October 1, 2012

      The flavors blended together really nicely!! Oh how sweet! Thank you very much for the reblogging!

  2. Jeremy Truitt
    October 1, 2012

    I’ll most def give this a shot! My kids and I made pumpkin pie from actual pumpkins yesterday so I had to blo git lol http://bit.ly/SyrRzM Check it out!

    • Beyond The Green Door
      October 1, 2012

      I think you and your boys will like them! Plus it would be an easy follow-up cooking experiment after the homemade pumpkin pie for them to do. Read your post and so glad the three of you had so much fun with it!

  3. Little Sis
    October 1, 2012

    These look delicious. I am a huge fan of pecans, but don’t usually have them in savory dishes. Thanks!

    • Beyond The Green Door
      October 1, 2012

      You’re quite welcome! I think you’ll enjoy them!

  4. SmallHouseBigGarden
    October 2, 2012

    These seem easy to make! Thank you!!

    • Beyond The Green Door
      October 2, 2012

      Thanks 🙂

  5. Cloches & Lavender
    October 2, 2012

    They look and sound fabulous. I am trying these. Thanks.

    Cynthia

    • Beyond The Green Door
      October 2, 2012

      Thanks! You’ll have to let me know what you think of them! 🙂

  6. Chris
    October 3, 2012

    Ooh, might I have tried these recently?

    • Beyond The Green Door
      October 3, 2012

      Why yes, yes I believe you have 🙂

  7. Dogs, Dishes, and Decor
    October 8, 2012

    YUM. I need to make these. Pecans are my favorite nut. I love that we both posted about pecans!

    • Beyond The Green Door
      October 9, 2012

      I know! Crazy — you know what they say about great minds…. 🙂

  8. luvaloo
    October 11, 2012

    Looks yummy!! I’ll have to give this a try.

    • Beyond The Green Door
      October 11, 2012

      I hope you enjoy them!!

  9. Pingback: Holiday Entertaing – Autumn Edition: Tablescape « Green Door Hospitality

  10. Pingback: Holiday Entertaining Tip: Utilize What You Have « Green Door Hospitality

  11. Pingback: Hostess Gifts: Sweet and Savory Almonds « Green Door Hospitality

Let me know what you think!

