Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Homemade Staples: Baked Potato

Baked Potato

The baked potato.  One of the greatest blank canvases found in the culinary world.  The topping options seem to be endless.

Baked Potato

But before you can top to your hearts content, you have to prep and cook the potato.  After washing and scrubbing the potato skins, I call on Alton Brown and a technique that he used in one of his Good Eats episodes.  I, of course, poke the potatoes with a fork several times so that there is a way for steam to escape.  And then I coat with kosher salt.  Alton Brown first coats his with canola oil before the salt, and puts down a sheet of aluminum foil in the oven to catch the drippings.  However,  I’ve found with just adding the salt after scrubbing the potato (you need to make sure it is still wet so that the salt sticks) does the trick with less clean up mess.

Baked Potato

I then put them direct onto the oven rack and bake at 425 for 30 minutes.  At that time I flip the potatoes and bake for another 30 minutes.  The salt on the skins give a wonderful flavor and crispness to the potato!  Every oven is different so adjust temperature and cook time accordingly.  You want your bakers to be crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. 🙂

And then comes the fun part.  Toppings!  What’s great about a baked potato is that you can make it super hearty, meaty, vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, light, etc.  The sky’s the limit.   In the first photo, I just have it with butter, sour cream, and cracked pepper –which is what went best with our meal last night.  However other options could include:

  • cheese
  • salsa
  • bacon
  • cottage cheese
  • guacamole
  • cheese sauce
  • broccoli
  • corn
  • pico de gallo
  • black beans

So how do you like YOUR baked potato??

8 comments on “Homemade Staples: Baked Potato

  1. Playful foodist
    July 27, 2012

    Have you ever tried peanut butter as a topping? It’s awesome!

  2. Chris
    July 27, 2012

    I use the Alton-Brown method, too. I use the oil, and put foil underneath to catch anything that may fall, but I may try it with just the salt on the still-wet potatoes.

    Oh, and I love them with black beans and Greek yogurt.

  3. thingsmybellylikes
    July 28, 2012

    I’m Irish so I like my potatoes in any shape or form. I can never turn down a good spud 😉

  4. Pingback: Chicken with Hot Lemon Butter Sauce « Green Door Hospitality

  5. Pingback: Elegant and Affordable: Buttermilk Baked Pork Chops « Green Door Hospitality

Let me know what you think!

