Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Purple Fountain Grass Majesty

Back in March, we decided to flank our garden gate with Purple Fountain Grass.  We planted already developed plants (as appose to seeds).   You can see how tiny the plants still were in April when we got married.  (If you look closely to the left of the alter you can see a little fountain grass in the corner of the mulched area)

Now, we are very happy to say, four months later the Purple Fountain Grass looks like this:

Tips for Growing Purple Fountain Grass:

  • Does well in any soil, but for greater results plant in fertile, well-drained soil.
  • Thrives in full sun and warmer temperatures.
  • Established plants do not need regular watering, except in cases of drought.
  • Trim back your fountain grass in late winter to early spring to keep the plant thriving in years to come.
12 comments on “Purple Fountain Grass Majesty

  1. Cloches & Lavender
    July 22, 2012

    I love this grass. It is not a perennial in NJ. By the way, I am doing the Lovely blog post today.

    • Beyond The Green Door
      July 22, 2012

      I have really become a big fan of ornamental grasses — waiting to show pictures of our purple love grass for when it actually turns purple 😉

      Sounds great. Look forward to reading it.

  2. bigsmileu1
    July 22, 2012

    I do not have any ornamental grass in my yard. Mostly, I didn’t know how or what to do with it. Thanks for sharing and showing how beautiful these grasses can be in a yard. 🙂

  3. Laurie
    July 22, 2012

    Wow! That’s much taller than any Purple Fountain Grass that I’ve had. Very pretty.

  4. thingsmybellylikes
    July 22, 2012

    I’m jealous of your beautiful garden ( we just have a patio). I’d never heard of purple fountain grass, it’s v pretty.

    • Beyond The Green Door
      July 23, 2012

      Aw, thanks! I actually had never heard of it either… so glad we found it and planted it!

  5. SmallHouseBigGarden
    July 22, 2012

    Love the stuff!! I have one Big grouping to the right of my front door and love how it looks!! Yours is phenomenally huge in such a short time!!!

    • Beyond The Green Door
      July 23, 2012

      Thanks! I think it is because we had some huge amounts of rain the beginning of July and when we got back from vacation they just were huge!!

  6. Valentina
    July 25, 2012

    I love fountain grass in my garden as well, they are so pretty in the wind.

Let me know what you think!

