Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Brunch Basics: French Toast

French Toast

French toast has always been one of my favorite breakfast foods.  And what of the great things about it is the versatility of toppings you can put on it.  Syrup, powdered sugar, peanut butter, preserves, honey, whipped cream and fruit, etc. All can take a rather simple dish and make it something special.  Then of course there are the recipes like “creme brulee french toast” that take it to a completely different level.

Let’s get back to simple french toast.  Below is the recipe that I make.  It adds just enough flavor to make it interesting, without taking away from anything you might want to top them with.  Please note that this recipe is in large part by feel.

French Toast

  • 4 eggs
  • milk
  • granulated sugar
  • vanilla extract
  • nutmeg
  • cinnamon
  • sliced bread

French Toast

Heat griddle to 300 degrees.

Whisk eggs together for a smooth consistency.  I personally have found that a glass pie dish works really well for making french toast.  You are able to coat the bread very easily with plenty of room to “mop up” the mixture.

Slowly add milk.  I don’t have an exact measurement for this.  I add a little and then mix.  I continue this process until I get a ratio of milk to egg that I’m happy with (which is about an even split between the two ingredients).  This is in large part on how an individual likes their french toast.  Some like it more “eggy”, some like it with more milk.  It’s your call. 🙂

This personal taste thing comes into play quite a bit for this last part of the mixture.  After the egg and milk are whisked together, add sugar, vanilla, nutmeg, and cinnamon to taste.  I usually do about 2 Tbs of sugar, 3 splashes of vanilla, and a good healthy sprinkling of nutmeg and cinnamon.  (I also add more nutmeg and cinnamon periodically during the bread dipping process so that they each piece gets a dose).

Taking one piece of bread at a time, dip the bread in the mixture, coating on both sides.  Put on the griddle.  Allow to cook for 3-5 minutes, or until desired “doneness”.  Flip and cook pieces on the other side.  Once cooked, serve, top with yummy goodness and enjoy.

11 comments on “Brunch Basics: French Toast

  1. wifemeetslife
    July 22, 2012

    I make banana french toast (just smush a banana into the egg mixture) and eat it with strawberry preserves on top. I have also made coconut french toast (same as the banana, just with flaked coconut).

    • Beyond The Green Door
      July 22, 2012

      Oh those both sound wonderful! Will have to give them each a try — especially the combination of the banana french toast with the strawberry preserves!

  2. Cloches & Lavender
    July 22, 2012

    I make ousr dipped in egg and then I dip the bread into cornflake crumbs that has allspice mixed into it. I heat up syrup with cinnamon sprinkled in. It is really good.

    Cynthia

  3. bigsmileu1
    July 22, 2012

    I like my French toast with butter and real maple syrup. I will need to try your recipe. It looks delicious. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Holiday Entertaining Tips: Don’t Forget Breakfast for Overnight Guests « Green Door Hospitality

  5. moderndayruth
    February 19, 2013

    That’s my comfort food, my granma used to make it for me :))

    • Green Door Hospitality
      February 20, 2013

      French Toast is one of my comfort foods too! How lovely that your grandma used to make it for you 🙂
      Kenley

Let me know what you think!

