Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

Week In Review: Contests, Pintrest, and Happy Trees

Keep Calm and Paint Happy Trees

Happy Friday!  When I was a kid I used to love Bob Ross.  I would watch his painting show all the time and would get drawn in my his soothing, peaceful voice.  When a week gives you ups and downs, just paint happy trees.  And maybe pretend a little squirrel lives in one of those trees.  And he has a friend that lives in that other happy tree.  And they come down to the pond you just painted to play.  And….  :-)

Well, the big news this week is that I have submitted the image of my delicious Balsamic Strawberry Pie in the April Food Photo Contest over at  Food Stories!  If you get a chance, I would love if you vote for it!  The deadline is April 30th and you can vote as many times as you want!  Click on the image to be taken there now and thank you so much for your support! :-)

Balsamic Strawberry Pie

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When I saw this recipe from Jessica at Beer and Baking, I just fell in love!  Beer Doughnut Balls sound like they would be out of this world and are totally going on my “to try” list!!

Photo Courtesy of Beer and Baking

Photo Courtesy of Beer and Baking

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I love Stone Gable and all of the wonderful entertaining design tips that they provide!  She comes up with some of the most beautiful tables.  And in this article, Yvonne provides a fantastic Formula For Setting A Casual Table!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For all bloggers out there that use Pintrest: 

Pintrest started back in January, I believe, a way to verify your website on your Pintrest account IF you owned the website.  Well friends, I figured out a way for bloggers who are using the free platforms of WordPress, Blogger, and Tumblr to be able to verify your website on your account!  Click HERE to get instructions!  So, what would be the reason for doing this??  In March, Pintrest launched analytics that allows you to see your most pinned, most clicked, and general site metrics as it relates to Pintrest!  But you have to have your website or blog verified in order to access this great data!  For more information on this, check out Kludgy Mom’s great article on the subject!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Catch up with this week’s Green Door Hospitality posts!

Lunchtime Hospitality:  Chicken Alfredo with Zucchini

Elegant and Affordable:  Balsamic Strawberry Pie

Spring Tablescapes:  Garden Rustic Chic

Wordless Wednesday:  Reflecting on Umlauf

Simple Appetizer Alert:  Vegan Stuffed Mushrooms

28 comments on “Week In Review: Contests, Pintrest, and Happy Trees

  1. apuginthekitchen
    April 12, 2013

    Hope your photo wins, voted for you, it looks so good!! I have not been able to figure out how to verify on Pinterest, will have to look over your link I tried several times several different ways with no success. Thanks for posting that,

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 12, 2013

      Thanks so much! I really appreciate your vote!
      And let me know if you have any questions on the Pintrest stuff once you take a look at it. I had a really hard time until I stumbled onto these two links (which is why I wanted to share them!!).
      Kenley

  2. Cloches & Lavender
    April 12, 2013

    I voted for you, I can’t wait to try this recipe.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 12, 2013

      Thanks so much Cynthia!! And strawberry season will be there before you know it! :-)
      Kenley

  3. Jessica Rice
    April 12, 2013

    Thanks for the blog love! Xoxo :)

  4. now at home mom
    April 12, 2013

    Hi Kenley! I really loved your picture for your Balsamic Strawberry Pie, just voted and I made sure to ask my twitter friends to vote for you! You deserve it Kenley; wish you good luck! :-) As for Bob Ross; I love him too! so peaceful you are right! when I was a kid I enjoyed watching him on TV, he made painting look so easy, then I would give it a try and it was not the same! ha!ha! hope you will have a great weekend! :-)

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 12, 2013

      Thank you so much Ingrid for all the support — both the voting and the tweeting! You are awesome and I greatly appreciate it!
      And yes, my happy trees never looked as happy as Bob’s either! ;-) Have a great weekend!
      Kenley

  5. pinkoclock
    April 12, 2013

    Oh my God. Beer doughnut balls. Amazing.

  6. Home Seasons
    April 12, 2013

    Loved watching Bob Ross, too! He always made painting look so easy when it definitely isn’t!

  7. tableofcolors
    April 12, 2013

    Vote is cast! :) And your balsamic strawberry pie looks delicious!

  8. Way to go with finding a workaround for WordPress.com users to verify their site on Pinterest! And I’m off to vote for your yummy photo. Best of luck, Kenley! You deserve a win like this.

  9. moderndayruth
    April 12, 2013

    I love your posts at the end of the week – so great to have it all there, if – like me – one had a crazy week and missed a lot of it! (Btw, i voted, fingers crossed! ;))

  10. the Painted Apron
    April 12, 2013

    First of all Kenley, that Bob Ross stuff is hilarious! Poor Bob, he went too soon…I know people who didn’t care about art but would watch him for the entertainment value! Your pie looks amazing! I voted but please keep reminding us to vote again. Thanks for the Pinterest verification info, I swear I’ve been trying to figure that out for a while! I’m out of town with just my iPad but will work on it next week, might contact you if I need more help!
    Jenna

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 13, 2013

      Thanks so much Jenna! And yeah, if you have any questions about the Pintrest stuff when you get back into town, just let me know!
      Kenley

  11. mandy
    April 12, 2013

    I voted for you!! Mandy (from mydaughtersapron.com)

  12. johnnysenough hepburn
    April 13, 2013

    Had to vote for your Balsamic Strawberry Pie as I just love the idea of that combination. And thanks for the links re Pinterest as I couldn’t figure out before. Shall have a look tomo.

    • Green Door Hospitality
      April 16, 2013

      Thanks so much for the vote! And let me know if you have any questions on the Pintrest stuff.
      Kenley

  13. Time With Thea
    April 15, 2013

    Just to let you know that I voted and pinned the pie! It looks so yummy! Good Luck! ~Thea

  14. lulu
    April 20, 2013

    I’m on my way to cast a vote.

Let me know what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 827 other followers

